into the details…

Standard

I like the sparkle. The detail. The hoopla surrounding this time of year.

I believe in not just focusing on my own immediate family here that I live with, but making sure to spread cheer and gifts to lots of people I care about. To send more happy mail, to enjoy each and every moment of the season. To let myself get carried away in a sea of glitter and giggles, spend an entire day doing a jigsaw puzzle or just laying around watching movies.

Whatever you’re up to this weekend, and this holiday season in general I hope you make merry. Have fun with it. Don’t justify or excuse yourself for stuff- just smile and enjoy whatever it is you are doing. If you don’t want to send cards or spread cheer – well that’s fine too!

I will just say that in my experience, *I* get the greatest joy from the season when I’m giving and spreading cheer to others.I get more enjoyment from giving gifts than whatever I might get – which is how it should be. I don’t focus on what I want, what I would like… I just make merry and trust the rest to fall in place.

Know what? I’ve found that it does.

The years I focus on me and don’t share holiday spirit? Those are the darkest and seem the least special in retrospect.

Just something to consider…

It doesn’t have to be expensive either. A card, email, phone call… reaching out can make someone’s day. Not to mention put a bright spot in your own day.

I’m off to make some memories, try some new things, and stick to some traditions as well this weekend. Enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. “I just make merry and trust the rest to fall in place.” What a wonderful way to approach the holidays or just life in general. Love it!

  2. I too, enjoy sharing the joy and celebrations with others. Thank you for sharing May. Many blessings to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

