Office Space.

Standard

I remember long ago when I was just a newlywed woman managing a scrapbook store and the huge trend of office supply inspired scrapbook stuff came out. Paper clips? Staples? Ledger and grid papers? Lined stamps? GENIUS! I couldn’t believe it. What I love most about this, is that it fits. Back when I was a kid office supplies WERE used in my scrapbooks sometimes! Fancy paper didn’t exist. So I love that those designs remain a part of the scrapbook industry even today.

I had some fun playing with my trusty stapler and design ruler by Tim Holtz, both of which are staples in THIS office. I also used two favorite Hero Arts Stamps, and the new Amy Tangerine line as well. I love how she has bits of ledger, grid, lined, and other office-like elements in her product line.

Because it’s “back to school” week here on the blog, I video taped my creative process and thoughts on my favorite office inspired supplies:

Such a fun page – and yes, when I’m taping these creative sessions what you see is what you get. Aside from making sure I have options within arms reach, and knowing what photos I don’t pre-plan!! This is really how I create.

So are you an office supply fan? What do you like?

If you’d like to read more on the subject of office supplies + crafting, be sure to check out Melissa [aka scrappy jedi] and Nancy [aka she who owns Scrapbook Update] – they blogged stuff today too! It’s a part of our new series we’ll be doing once a month where we [scrapbook update staff] all blog about a similar topic! FUN stuff I tell you. Can’t wait to see what they did…

27 responses »

  1. My fave office supplies: scissors, ruler, pens and pencils. Oh, what the heck, love ’em all, LOL! Love the page.
    Looking forward to your BPC class. I’m hoping I get back to actual playing with my stuff soon.

  2. cool. I’ll check out the video later today. i like how you do your videos; funny that they’re not planned 🙂 looking forward to using staples colored w/adirondak inks (ck out tim holtz’s blog from yesterday 🙂 ttfn!

  3. Thank you! this is a terrific topic! I love post it notes, and storage supplies (office related) and unique paper clips, and interesting papers that I find, and just stuff…I love poking around and finding things that would help out with scrapping. Thanks for your ideas.

  4. i love stationery shops. all those pens and pencils,who knew there were so many shades of grey, envelopes, tags, notepads, oh be still my heart. i dont however use much of it on my pages. thanks for the inspiration.

  5. I love the videos, they are so fun and this page is gorgeous, I have put in an order for amy tangerine stuff too, I was excited to see you using it. I was thinking of ordering some stains (especially after watching your video that i only just found lol) and maybe a distress ink or two and that foam on a handle thing, I have been trying to pick colours and it is so hard to choose!!

  6. Super fun video, it is refreshing to see and hear others thought process while designing a layout 🙂 I love office supplies and always spend a few minutes gazing at all the paraphernalia but don’t seem to purchase much. Once in a while things crop into my pages, staples, mini envelopes, even the paper hole reinforcements! TFS

  7. What a fun layout. It makes me want to get out some office/school supplies and do a layout. Thanks for the inspiration.

  8. That really did come together easy. Thanks sharing. I like to use post it notes (the fully sticky kind) to use as masks, shipping tags and pens from the office supply store.

  9. I love my Tim Holtz tiny attacher and design ruler too. Plus I love grid paper. And tags. And twine! You get the idea! In fact when I was little I wanted to own a newsagent (a cross between and office supply store and a newsstand). Great video, thanks May. I really love all that Amy Tangerine stuff too

  10. Really really enjoyed this! And I checked out Nancy and Melissa’s blogs-now I have lots of new ideas and inspiration.Thanks!

  11. May, it was so much fun watching you create your page! ‘Love it!! Oh, besides office supply stores, I also like to visit school supply stores, too! ‘So fun!! Thanks so much for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

