for the love of snapshots.

Standard

I love the holiday season, and I love all the gatherings and fun… but this weekend I’m really looking forward to some quiet time!! Some catch up on ordering photos, create a bit, and be productive time. I’ve already started – here’s some photos (and thoughts) as I edit/sort/delete/and order holiday prints…

I can’t quite bring myself to delete this one. It reminds me of a swirling transition in an old superhero movie/show or something. Then there is my FAVORITE photo:

Girls in their holiday socks + new skirts + unbrushed hair… holding our elf on the shelf (it’s ok to hug him on Christmas I said) and the slightly messy remnants of Christmas morning behind them. Such a unplanned (and un-cropped) moment and I love it. Much like I love this photo…

I have such a thing for imperfect family photos. When not everyone is smiling or somebody looks goofy or something is wrong or not cropped well or whatever – I LOVE IT!!  It screams “real” to me and reminds me of the pre-digital era when we didn’t know what photos had turned out until the film was developed.

Tomorrow I’ll be back with some editing tips that I use a lot – and watch for more information about my upcoming BPS class and a give-away this weekend!!

7 responses »

  1. Love the family shot. The way your eldest is holding her head just like the lady who is holding her – and they look so alike she has to be a relative??

    ** Kate **

  2. I love your photos! My family gets all weird when I am snapping candid shots which I have come to love more than anything. “She doesn’t want you to look at her and smile” is the reminder my mom gives people LOL!

  3. I love your imperfect pictures!! My favorite imperfect pics are of my grandsons just playing or eating and being who they are …not posed. I enjoy your blog so much. You are what i like to call”real”.. LOL

  4. Happy New Year May!
    Just signed up for your Feb. class-can’t wait 😉 Am just getting into the acrylics and wonderful artwork of Kelly Rae. Was inspired by your last few creations 😉

  5. Love your swirly photo! I was at a carousel auction once, in a tent in NYC. I took a photo of the carousel horses all lined up; it was way blurry but the horse shapes and bright colours against that intense blue tent have kept it at the top of my very favourite photos, ever. I even had a 10×12 enlargement of it made (way before digital/printing photos at home) – I’m sure the guy at the photo place thought I was nuts, LOL.

Leave a Reply

