Movie: Masters of the Universe

Standard

I remember being a He-Man/She-Ra fan big time. In fact, I KNOW I had a She-Ra themed birthday party in the 80’s and that it was the best.thing.ever.

So when Netflix alerted me to the existence of a live action movie version, even though I know it would likely be craptastic I had to watch. HAD TO.

It was awesome.

I’m sorry, did I saw awesome? I meant weird, odd, without plot, and otherwise just… not right.

A young Courtney Cox co-stars as a human from the town where the key went where He-Man and his buddies went to save the world from…

Oh nevermind. It was an awesomely BAD 80’s flick. You didn’t miss anything.

Watch at your own risk. This film sadly did NOT seem to have the power of GreySkull.

{If classic 80’s cheesy movie w/man in animal fur panties is your thing – Red Sonja is a classic I still love, and it’s got a seriously a kick ass heroine!)

5 responses »

  1. I saw this movie years ago and seem to recall that my favorite part (other than the general goofiness of the entire movie!) was that in the future everyone is vegetarian. Go He-Man!

    P.S. My brother’s favorite character was Teela, and he went through many many Teela dolls because he had a nasty habit of biting her head off (literally). He was just a little kid and the fact that he’d done this would cause him to have a breakdown, so they always made sure to have an extra Teela stashed away somewhere for when she inevitable became decapitated. Weird kid!

  2. “I am Adam, Prince of Eternia and defender of the secrets of castle Grey Skull. This is Cringer, my fearless friend. Fabulous secret powers were revealed to me the day I held aloft my magic sword and said, ‘By the power of Grey Skull, I have the power!’ Cringer became the mighty Battlecat and I became He-Man, the most powerful man in the universe.”

    Yes, I still have the introduction to the cartoon memorized. Scary.

  3. I seem to recall this movie as well. I agree that the funniest part was when someone asked why we would put our food on little white sticks and the response was that they were actually bones, and everyone put their food down. Sometimes it is a good laugh to watch something from way back when.

Leave a Reply

