Lots happening on a Friday {prize inside}

Standard

You know how sometimes I say I’m busy, but can’t tell you how or why? Today I can share some. I’ve also got some links I want to share, and maybe a prize.

So first up, I saw Ali’s call for guest bloggers on Twitter and I sent her a message. I didn’t know if she’d need me or not, but I figured I would love to help her out with an article while she’s soaking up a technology/blog break. The article I wrote is timely considering my own craft journey I’ve been sharing with you all, I hope you like it.Β  http://www.aliedwards.com/2010/03/guest-post-by-may-flaum.html

Next up, another May article! I’m loving all the newΒ Melody RossΒ goods – watch for projects featuring them here. In the meantime, I reviewed her ChipArt tools over at Scrapbook Update.

Now here comes some random linkage. Yesterday I was happy to see that something I’ve long wished for is here – and FREE. The Pioneer Woman PSE actions – how cool! Now I can have the actions without opening my ancient version of CS. I’ll post results here for sure.

This morning I noticed a post worth mentioning – Cathy Zielske posts her awesomeness + a video tutorial on hybrid scrapping. You know I’m all about that!

Finally I have a give-away for you. I have some Nikki Sivils awesomeness, a hilarious book, both of the tape runners I talked about a few days ago, a pretty Scarlet Lime stamp (I have 2 – how did that happen?) and much more. I’m going to STUFF the box. I think I have more stamps, some flowers, stickers… yes I’m going to cram a USPS priority box full. Want it? Just leave a comment here. I’ll draw a winner on Tuesday morning… when I announce my next Big Picture class!!

Have a great weekend.

133 responses

  1. I just found your blog from Ali’s– what an amazing find for me πŸ™‚ I’m going to become a follower so you can be inspired by you every time you post.
    Thanks for the chance to win!

  2. had already seen your guest blog on Ali’s sight. Loving your layouts, so springy looking. Guess I really need some spring. Thanks for a chance to win some fun stuff including the tape runners.

  3. Great post on Ali’s blog!! Don’t know what I am more excited about…..winning or your new class!!!!!!!!!!

  4. wow, loved your layouts on ali’s blog and excited to stalk…ok read yours too πŸ™‚ thanks for the chance to win some fun goodies!! pick me!!!

  5. I read Cathy’s post and thought “What a great layout. I bet May would like that.” I can’t wait to find out about your class!

  6. I think this is my first comment on your blog, though I’ve been following for months. Love your blog and your scrapbook pages. Thanks for sharing with us.

  7. Just read your post on Ali’s blog. I struggle with this exact issue and spend way to much time trying to make the “perfect” layout. Thanks for your post. It really made me think about what I am trying to do through my scrapbooking, which is document memories. Maybe I will finish that layout that is on my scrapbooking table tonight!

  8. Loved what you said on Ali’s blog today! Now to get started on some pages…

  9. You are right, your give away is packed with awesomeness!! Many of my favs are featured there including Sophie Kinsella. Have you read “Can you Keep Secret?” It is my favorite book by her, but I still have not read the “Undomestic Goddess” yet. Heading over to Ali’s blog now to read your guest post.

  10. I enjoyed your post on Ali’s blog today. I have enjoyed all the this week on your blog too. thanks for a chance to win!

  11. Loved your guest post over at Ali’s blog. I agree with you that we all have to find our own scrapping style and just be ourselves. Although I haven’t tried to copy other people, I did go through a time when I felt really inadequate and uncreative because my layouts didn’t look like those in magazines or on the internet. It was so freeing to decide that my creations were MINE and that they were perfect for me. I really enjoy your blog as well. I check in every day! Hope I win a package of goodies!

  12. Wow..love the giveaway. I saw your post on Ali’s site and enjoyed it. I really wanted to take your hybrid class at BPS but due to finances I couldn’t. Hopefully things will improve soon so I can take some of your classes.

  13. You are always thinking of us aren’t you? Well, I love coming here…keep up the good work! (Love those emails too)

  14. Just read your guest post on Ali’s blog. I have been following your blog for a little bit now and have taken one or two of your BPS classes. I love your perspective and insight. Thanks for the chance to win a GREAT prize pack. Who ever wins they will feel like it is Christmas again! : )

  15. I want to thank you for the opportunity to win. This is great–I really like Sophie K’s earlier stuff and would love to try out that adhesive.

  16. Another BPS class from you? Sign me up! I love your classes. Thanks for the chance to win the goodie box. Someone will be attacking the postman.

  17. I also read your guest post on Ali’s blog and decided to check out your blog. I love your attitude about scrapbooking, thanks for sharing!! I plan to add your blog to my daily blog reading πŸ™‚

  18. A box crammed full…do I want it? YES!!!
    Thanks so much for being so wonderfully generous.

  19. I really enjoyed your guest post and layouts on Ali’s blog. Now I must go get a set of circle cookie cutters! I heard you talk about them on Paperclipping Roundtable, too.

    Would love to win the box of goodies! Thanks for the chance.

  20. I just finished reading Ali’s blog and your part was wonderful! Then it was on to Cathy’s blog and now to your. I seem to have all my reading lined up perfectly!!

  21. So glad you were a guest poster for Ali! I am reading back through your blog and I can relate…laugh…and want to come back. Thanks for the great giveaway and I’m excited to meet you!

  22. Prizes, posts, new class – oh my! I loved your post on Ali’s blog. It’s funny I love your style, Ali’s, Cathy’s & Stacy’s all so different but I love doing a variety of styles myself. I also can’t wait to hear about the next part in your scrapbooking journey. Can’t wait to see what the new class at BPS is either!

  23. I saw your guest post earlier this morning! It is a great post! And this post is just fun! Thanks for some smiles today!

  24. I’m off to visit Cathy’s blog after leaving a comment here — y’all are my lunchtime reading today. πŸ™‚ Gosh, thanks for the chance to win your fun giveaway! I really liked your post over on Ali’s blog — it’s very easy to get caught up in wanting to emulate the amazingly talented women out there. I like to make cards and didn’t want to post any that didn’t come out “perfect,” but now I’m cutting myself some slack. Sometimes I’ll even point out what didn’t go quite right. πŸ˜‰

  25. I heard you on the paperclipping roundtable podcast and happy that I now found your blog through Ali’s blog. Really enjoyed your post.

  26. what a delightfully yummy box of goodness! Read your article over at Ali’s blog and loved it! Thanks for the continued inspiration!

    MK <

  27. i saw your post on ali’s blog…totally awesome…couldn’t wait to get over here and see more of your stuff and it DOES NOT disappoint! β™₯

    is it just me, or is a box of random and *mysterious* giveaway stuff automatically something to be craved and coveted on an “imelda marcos liked SHOES” sort of level? is that wrong??! ok, don’t answer that, just COUNT ME IN, please! πŸ™‚

  28. I just came from Ali’s blog & had already read your other article. Both were great. I love the idea of embracing imperfection. It’s something that I need to remind myself of all the time.

  29. I am totally loving your Hybrid class May! And as always love the blog and loved the guest post on Ali’s, its all part of my morning routine now!

  30. may…just found your site through ali’s blog…thank you for the great article. most often i am stuck at getting started because i’m not sure the finished product will be “right”, or the process along the way will frustrate me.
    more encouragement to just go with it…translates well to many areas of life, no?!!

  31. Yes, yes! I saw your post on Ali’s blog and loved it so. I posted about it, and you, on my own blog, spreading the love. : )

    Another BP class? Ooooh, I can’t wait to know what it is. And thanks for the opportunity to win some stuff.

    Mel

  32. Just checking you out via Ali’s blog. Love your honesty about tape runners. I buy expensive to help out a CM friend, but filter in SAdhesives every now and then πŸ™‚

  33. I am so loving your class, can’t wait to see what the new class is all about! Thanks for the chance to win.

  34. Your layouts on Ali’s blog are really nice. I am loving your hybrid class, the info is very helpful since I am new to the digital world. Thanks for the giveaway.

  35. I totally loved you post over on Ali’s blog. I am so with you on all that. I loved your post the other day that described your journey in scrapbooking. I feel the same way. I’m over all the “have tos” and “trends” and “rules”. If someone says design triangle or the rule of 3s to me again ….. I’m just going to do what I want …. so there. You are very inspiring and I know that if we lived close …. I’d want to be your friend in RL!

  36. Love reading your post on Ali’s blog! I’ll have to check out Cathy’s next. Thanks for all the linkage and I really enjoy reading your blog daily.

  37. Just found your blog via Ali’s. Loved your article, we all need to just scrap for fun and for ourselves.

  38. Congrats on the guest post! I love reading your blog and it’s fun to see you appearing in so many other places too. It was especially fun to hear you on the Paperclipping Roundtable. Thanks for the chance to win such a great prize!

  39. I just love you that you are real and down to earth and not afraid to admit your faults or flaws.

    I also love having that switch click for myself and letting go of the rules I was forcing on scrapbooking. Freedom is awesome!!

    I am having tons of fun reading your blog and in your hybrid class and can’t wait to see what you’ve got up your sleeve next!

  40. Loved, LOVED your post on Ali’s blog…..it is so easy to get caught up in other’s scrappy styles. Looking forward to seeing what your next class is at BPS….might just have to check that out! Thank you.

  41. I have been inpspired by your Ali post May, I feel like you have released me from the social pressure of scrapping, and made me remember why I am a scrapbooker in the first place πŸ™‚ Thankyou, I have really been enjoying reading about your journey and look forward to more πŸ™‚

  42. I’ve been enjoying your posts this week. They were just what I needed to hear. Thanks!

  43. I am enjoying all of your posts. I’m in your hybrid class and have been catching up this week. I’ve made quite a few hybrid pages that have come together very easily (I haven’t posted my pages). Thanks for the chance for a giveaway!

  44. great giveaway, so excited a new class can’t wait, taking your hybrid one now. going to read ali’s blog now to read your post.

  45. I LOVED your article–left a comment on that post. Great giveaway! I have been SO FRUSTRATED trying to find an adhesive runner that worked for me, so I really appreciate your post on that!

  46. ive just read your inspirational and open story on ali’s blog….thank you – it meant so much to me i sent you an email… thanks for those reminders

    love your stuff

    mandy from new zealand

  47. Intrigued by what you are teaching next at BPS. Thanks for sharing so much joy and creativity!

  48. Didn’t I just hear you on the Scrapbooker’s Roundtable? I enjoyed that plus I saw your addition to Ali’s blog. So now I’m here on your blog and will add you to my favorites.

  49. Great guest post…I totally agree with all the other commenters that enjoyed your blog, and I’ve added you to my favorites…

  50. what an awesome post you made….I truly love your work May…it is so inspiring and I even learn a few things along the way….like the glue runners…who knew??? Thanks for all that you do…..

  51. Oooh, I am needing a new book, this looks like a fun one! I am on a spendig freeze, so new scrappy supplies would be fun too!

  52. I love reading about your journey! I guess I’m not the only one that finally realized the end product needs to please me, not everyone looking it!

  53. Hello! I found your blog via your guest post on Ali’s site. It definitely inspired me! I spend too much time worrying about whether my scrapbook pages look like what’s trendy.

    I’m happy to have stumbled upon this awesome giveaway, too! I’m adding your blog to my Google Reader now! πŸ™‚

  54. A box of goodies crammed and coming from the impressive May Flaum. What could be better than that. Love your blog and faithfully read it. I must admit there’s not that many that make my “read at least 4 times a week” list and yours is there. Just wanted to say thank you for the continuous inspiration.

  55. Can’t wait to find out what your next class will be. Loved your article on Ali’s blog. Thanks for the reminder!! You always have good links and suggestions!

  56. I love you blog!!! I am only a new reader but enjoying every post!! thanks for the chance!!

  57. I enjoy reading your blog – You seem to have fun with what you are doing! Enjoy

  58. Have a wonderful weekend, also. Great article on Ali’s blog. I enjoyed it! Thanks for a chance to win some goodies!

  59. Loved your guest post on Ali’s blog and now I’ve found your site. And a give-away to boot πŸ™‚ Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  60. Im been following your blog for a couple years and you always have great stuff to share – I use your chicken enchaladia receipe all the time and am in love with stephanie plum books – I would love a chance to win one of the above prizes!!

  61. Oh boy oh boy oh boy!!!! It’s my first day of Spring Break-lots of time to read all your articles!!! Lots of time to play with a box jammed packed with goodies too…just sayin’ πŸ˜‰

  62. You sure are a busy lady these days. Love following your blog and can’t wait for the next BPS class. Happy scrappin’.

  63. I love your blog!! I’m loving the crafting journey story and I can so relate, though I’m not sure I’ve quite found myself as much… still on the journey

  64. Don’t enter me in the drawing as shipping would be a killer. But Im very excited to see your next BPS class!!!

  65. Cool giveaway, and so generous! I really enjoyed your guest post on Ali’s blog … great reminders!

  66. Love the guest blog appearance and thank you for so eloquantly putting to words what most of us have gone through. I am on my journey to get past the newest goodies and aspirations to make a perfect page. What do you do when your husband says he has no memories of us? I’m too busy pulling the right photos and the right paper and looking for that perfect embellishment. In the end, it is the story and the photos….Time to scrap with heart!!!

  67. i found you via ali edwards’ blog. what you wrote was truly inspiring to me. i guess i am tired with scrapbooking and have what i referred to as scrapper’s block. your writing made me think some and as soon as i finishing writing this, i am headed to my studio. i have lots of pictures……. calling me.

  68. Absolutely love the article, your blog and your BPS class! Can’t wait to hear about the next one. Thanks for your inspiration.

  69. may-you are so wonderful! i just read your guest post from ali. i am so impressed with you and your views on life and scrapbooking. thanks for the chance to win such great prizes. keep up the good work.
    christine

  70. I read Ali’s blog daily and was so excited to see you as the guest yesterday! I loved the article! It was a great message that I think we all can learn from, especially me πŸ™‚ Fantastic giveaway! thanks for the chance to win πŸ™‚

  71. hello May…how is the fur baby doing? spoiled already? lol

    That is a nice giveaway you have there. I hope is me but I congratulate and be happy for whoever gets it.

    How is the weather? It has been cold and windy up here. Brrr!

    Hugs!!!!!!!!

  72. loving your inspiration lately! and THANK YOU for the post onf tape runner. i am still mourning the loss of my kukuyo… so this is a new brand to consider! thanks for the tip! great giveaway!! PICK ME PICK ME! hehe

  73. Hello May!
    I just found you on Ali’s blog and loved your beautiful pages! I actually went back to look at them 3 times before I thought to follow you here.
    Thanks for the chance to win stuff. I am looking through your old blogs and loving it!!

  74. I want that box crammed full of wonderful goodies!! Pick me Mr. Generator man!! Just to let you know, love your blog. It has inspired me daily!

  75. I can’t remember how I found your site, but it is awsome. I have been enjoying your posts on your craft journey and it is so interesting. I think most of us that have scraped for a while have seen some sort of changes while on this journey. I know I have!!! Keep up your beautiful work!!

  76. Your post on Ali’s blog led me to this giveaway and to a blog I can tell I will continue to follow. I love both your scrapbooking philopsophy and the friendly atmosphere here on your blog! Your words touched me – I have been somewhat down and out about my young daughter, who at 12 is having a hard time finding her way, and finding her true self. She has sensory processing disorder, and so many things are a challenge that who she is and how to find happiness is challenging. Sometimes we feel the joy of victory, sometimes it’s pure heartbreak. What you’ve written touched my soul.

  77. Thanks for a chance to win, I can’t wait until Tuesday to hear about your new class, I’m in your hybrid class and I’m loving it!

  78. This is such fun!
    I’ve read your posts, re-read your guest post 2x’s, made notes….left and went and bought “contraband” sb stuff, just because I like it, and with fingers crossed I’m commenting hoping to get “your” box in the mail. LOL

  79. Ooooh I would love to win!! Could you send me some of your mojo too??!!
    Lol thanks for the opportunity.
    Mel xx

    ps. Have a USA shipping address!!!!

  80. Can’t wait for the reveal! It is going to be paper! Hope your hybrid class is going well.

    You are so generous and I am glad that you are “you”.

    Love checking your posts.

  81. I can’t wait to hear about your new class!! I was not able to take the last one. Have a great weekend!

  82. I am enjoying your blog and posts on Scrapbook Update. Thanks for offering a giveaway. It would be fun to try out some tape runners, stamps, and other goodies.

  83. You crack me up, May! And I must say, that I am REALLY thankful that you are sharing your creative journey. I have hope for my poor pages in the future!

  84. Just got back from a night away to I am catching up on all the blog action – I will pop over to Ali’s blog next.
    I am loving all the stories on your creative storey.

  85. I am a newby and a new fan! I love your approach and the relaxed attitude. I first found you on Ali’s blog and totally loved your message – it gave me confidence to do my own thing and to exhale and just jump in. I’ve bookmarked your blog and I’ll be back. Thanks!

  86. Hi May! I’m enjoying the story of your craft journey. Looking forward to reading about your next BP class because I was just thinking this is what I need! Would love to receive a box of goodies by mail…what fun!

  87. oh wow – you certainly have been a busy girl!!
    I’m about to start playing with the Pioneer Woman photoshop actions myself in the coming week. Can’t wait.
    I’m loving reading about your craft journey, and I especially respect the brutal honesty with which you’re sharing it. Thanks for continuing to inspire πŸ™‚

  88. Oooh, wonderful! Great post on Ali’s blog! Love your work! Happy Spring to you! -Alisa

  89. Do NOT put me in the drawing (I’m trying to control the stash!), but it looks like a fantastic prize. I just finished the book; fun, but somewhat frenetic style! Every good prize has adhesive, lol!

  90. Loved your post over at Ali’s blog! Left a little comment there. I don’t always say anything here, but I read every post you make! (thanks to you introducing me to Google Reader!)

  91. I read your blog on Ali’s site and was so happy with what you wrote. It took me a long time to finally decide where I fit in this scrapping world. Without children at home I thought that I had no story to tell. Now because of the wonderful classes I have taken and plan to take at BPS I know that I do have a story to tell. And with your help I have found a way to combine the digital and the paper and have it feel like my expression. Thank you.

  92. Hi! Found your blog from Ali’s site, then looked around a bit. Now its on my favorites list. So many nifty ideas. Thanks for sharing them. πŸ™‚

  93. Love, love, love Nikki Sivils paper…I bought Victoria’s Street a few months ago and used it right away…she is a fave of mine!! Great giveaway…thanks for the chance at winning! ***Megan

  94. Hi May! Loving your Hybrid class, I am slowly making my way through it. It’s fun to play! Hope you have a good week…

  95. I love that things can be imperfect ! And that’s what I try to tell myself. It’s hard sometimes though for me..and even when I know my work doesn’t even begin to compare to others, I still like it to be perfect to me ! But , really, what is perfect?

  96. I love roaming in your blog…I love your old pages, and how you are thinking about how to reuse old ideas. I know my beads have been calling to me lately. thank you for offering a giveaway…With a BOOK!! Can’t wait to see your new class.

    Reneecrops

  97. I love your site and it’s definitely on my list now. I haven’t tried the fiskars adhesive but I’d love a try. I’ve been trying tombow lately and it’s good too. thanks!

  98. I always look forward to reading your blog. Thanks so much for the chance to win.

  99. Enjoyed finding you on Ali’s blog – but I’m a follower here pretty regularly (have to find out the scoop on when you’re next launching a BPS class). I’m having lots of fun with Paper+Pixels BTW!
    Would love to win the stash – but realise I’m a bit late with my comment. Perhaps the time difference will mean I can just squeak past the deadline….