2010: an honest year

Standard

A major reason I don’t try to pick one word for the year is that it doesn’t work for me. I like to re-evaluate and focus my life as needed – thus why I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions but rather strive for better living year-round. I don’t like to do things that aren’t sincere, and I don’t like to do things halfway. That said, if I was choosing a word for 2010 another contender I’d have would be HONEST.

True to myself and others, being upfront, doing what I love, not deceiving myself or others. These are all things I strive for already, and really who doesn’t need to keep a focus on honest living every year? Yes, if I was choosing a word this would be a top pick.

If I’m being honest, (and when am I not?) I’m bummed I didn’t get a job that I went out for. I really thought I’d be good for it… but wasn’t picked.

3 – 2 – 1. 

Now I’m over it.

REALLY.

The thing is, in this creative industry you have to focus on yourself and what you are good at. No point moping or wasting energy on what might have been. Keep moving forward! In my experience looking around at other people or trying to do something because it’s popular isn’t a good idea. No, you have to understand that sometimes you don’t have what they are looking for and that is OK. Just keep working hard, enjoying what you do, and put yourself out there.  It’s really not personal or an attack on you if you don’t get chosen for something.  I’m also a big believer in ‘unanswered prayers’ – sometimes what is meant to be is way better than what you think you want in the moment. I could write paragraphs about my outlook on scrapbooking as a professional/beyond hobby… maybe some other day.

Bottom line? I’m keeping myself honest, and it’s another word to live by this year.

7 responses »

  1. Sorry you did not get what you were shooting for. It’s hard to not get something you know you are right for.
    You very likely will have many more great opportunities and find something perfect for you.
    Best of luck!
    Honest is good.
    I chose courage for my word this year. I thought of hope or acceptance, but think courage may encompass those things.
    To a great 2010!

  2. Ah May-disappointment stinks! But I do believe that something better is out there for you too. Plus when those sweet little angels of yours face disappointment, your love will be authentic.

    I hope you continue to keep putting yourself out there, because I know of 20+ women who took a class from you, and grew to understand and enjoy scrapbooking even more because you did!! You have a great gift May, don’t doubt that K? Can’t wait for the next class!

  3. Hmm… you are so talented May, this must of not been what you needed this time. Maybe if they do another round or need someone again. Or … something bigger and better will open up and you will be available !

    I’m not much into trends and fads. I am who I am, what I am and that’s all I can be… (everyone else is taken ! ) LOL That’s what makes us all unique and ourselves. I don’t want to be what everyone else is and never have.

    There is something to be said for Honesty, Respect and Integrity..some very key words for me.

    Wishing you Many Blessings in 2010 !

  4. I hate that for you but like you said I am sure there is something better out there for you! I don’t know you very well but I am SURE that you are one honest person! You have other great qualities as well. I know that you are very giving and loyal and that you are VERY family oriented and lets not forget talented either! Keep your chin up!!

Leave a Reply

