when stuck in neutral…

Standard

I am sure I’m not the only one this happens to- when I’ve not been creative in a while, well… it’s hard for me to get started back up again. My normal routine is to be creative for 1-4hrs on any given day. Even if it’s just a short bit- most every day I do create. So… any more than 4 days or so OFF and my brain starts rusting! ack! Generally it’s just that FIRST project back on the job that is hardest, and today marks day #2 that I’m trying to get something going!

This is what I do: sit and look at supplies, photos, etc. and get inspired. BUT my brain refuses to engage with something. It’s like I’m stuck in neutral. Solution? Just hand myself something to copy, lift, or otherwise create without using much creativity on my own.

Today’s solution is a pattern from Heather Bailey that just came today. PERFECT! I can work on cutting fabric and making a cute pincushion to get my brain working creatively once again. Fun stuff for sure, and I’ll be to share my success (or failure!) soon as I can.

7 responses »

  1. I’m sure you know that happens to me too… :]
    I just might take your advice and work on a sewing project to try to get things going. I’ve made a few layouts recently, but none of them are what I wanted them to look like… know what I mean? which is almost as frustrating as not being able to make anything in the first place.

  2. I think that happens to everyone and its very fustrating – I usually start out looking at layouts till something jumps out at me. Thats a very cute pin cushion – cant wait to see finished product – thats fine about my prize – I kinda forgot till you sent the email – so you could say I got surprised twice. lol

  3. I hear ya ! That’s where I’m at. It’s been a very long time since I’ve actually “made” something from start to finish…. I had to do a couple of rush bday cards over the weekend.. (dang, forgot to take pics!) I’ve gone down to my table and rearranged things a few times, fondled some paper and brads but left them hanging!

    That pear pin cushion is adorable!!

  4. Now I don’t know which I like better the strawberries or the pear. . . looking forward to see your pear when you get it done! I hope this get your jump started again

  5. I’m thinking of buying that pattern! If I could actually make them, I think they would make great Christmas gifts (along with a couple for myself!). Let me know how hard they are to put together.

    I’m with you on the creative rut. Not sure what mine stems from but I’m hoping it cures itself soon!

Leave a Reply

